Design Fundamentals for Interiors

Overview

This unit delivers the underpinning principles for interior decoration and design and is an excellent course to begin with. Students practice resolving visual and spatial problems through the application of design principles and elements in interior settings. Includes the introduction to practical exercises such as 2D presentation boards for visual balance, evaluation of design principles in action and the development of an individual resource and visual reference library for inspiration and ideas.

Course content

  • Apply various problem solving methods to evaluate and solve individual design problems
  • Apply the principles of design to two dimensional and three dimensional projects
  • Explain the various characteristics of each of the elements of design and how they interact with each other in the design of artwork, object, construction or creative piece of work involving multi media technologies
  • Evaluate the appropriate technology processes and techniques required to achieve a specific design outcome, and the uses and constraints of media and materials 

Ideal for

This course is designed for people who are interested in interior design and decorating their own projects or those who wish to explore Interior Design before taking up full time study.

More information

Outcome

On completion of the course participants should have an understanding of the deign elements and how these can be added to a space using the principles of design. The class exercises will give participants a practical application of the elements and principles and how this will work in an interior space. Students will communicate concepts or ideas through application of design processes to two dimensional form of presentation boards.

Pre-requisites

Students will be guided through the various processes during the delivery of this course

Materials supplied

All relevant course materials are included.

Materials to bring

Pen/pencil and notebook.

Award

Participants will be awarded an RMIT Statement of Participation.

Additional notes

Additional materials to bring

  • A3 visual diary spiral bound
  • Pencils - HB 2B
  • Pens - Black Artline fine felt pen 0.2 OR 0.4 thickness
  • Scalpel + extra blades
  • Scissors - cutting fabrics and paper
  • Glue stick
  • 15mm double sided tape
  • Eraser
  • 30cm steel ruler
  • Interior design magazines for cutting out images - eg. Belle, Vogue Interiors etc
Printable course flyer

Available course dates

Tuesday 01 May 2018

  • Code S320126
  • Start date 01.05.18
  • End date 03.07.18
  • Hours 30.00
  • Campus CITY
  • Fee $670.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Tue 01.05.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 08.05.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 15.05.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 22.05.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 29.05.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 05.06.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 12.06.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 19.06.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 26.06.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 03.07.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00

Tuesday 17 July 2018

  • Code S320126
  • Start date 17.07.18
  • End date 18.09.18
  • Hours 30.00
  • Campus CITY
  • Fee $670.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Tue 17.07.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 24.07.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 31.07.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 07.08.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 14.08.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 21.08.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 28.08.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 04.09.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 11.09.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 18.09.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00

Tuesday 02 October 2018

  • Code S320126
  • Start date 02.10.18
  • End date 11.12.18
  • Hours 30.00
  • Campus CITY
  • Fee $670.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Tue 02.10.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 09.10.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 16.10.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 23.10.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 30.10.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 13.11.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 20.11.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 27.11.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 04.12.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 11.12.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00

Learn more

Share