Introduction to Photography - Level 1: Technical and Aesthetic

Overview

This course takes a practical approach to explaining the basics of digital camera operation and explores methods of creating visually dynamic photographs. An introduction to post production and output to print is also considered.

Course content

  • Camera types and lenses
  • Exposure control using aperture and shutter speed
  • Controlling subject movement and depth of field
  • Digital file formats, ISO and white balance
  • Image design and composition
  • Lighting (outdoor and studio)
  • Black and white photography
  • Professional photographic services, processing and printing options
  • Photo editing and presentation

Learning will take place through explanation, demonstration, discussion and a series of practical assignments.

Ideal for

Camera users with little or no photographic experience or knowledge. It is suitable for users of digital SLR or mirrorless cameras who wish to gain a greater understanding of camera controls.

More information

Outcome

At the end of this course, you will have developed an ability to understand and operate a SLR digital camera. You will also have learnt the principles of lighting, image composition and an introduction to post production, print presentation and commercial photographic services.

Pre-requisites

None

Materials supplied

Lighting equipment for studio exercise

Materials to bring

  • SLR digital camera or mirrorless camera
  • Camera instruction book

Digital printing for assignments undertaken during the course (paid by participant). Further guidelines will be provided.

Award

RMIT Statement of Participation will be awarded, this will not guarantee entry into an RMIT program.

Additional notes

Deborah Dorman is a qualified professional photographer with a Cert IV in Training and Assessment. She loves sharing the joy of photography with others and has a skill for explaining the complex in easy to understand ways. Deborah established Wild Honey Photography, a successful portrait, wedding and event photography business, in QLD in 1998. She moved to Melbourne in 2010 and commenced teaching photography at RMIT. You'll find Deborah teaching the Introduction to Photography Level 1 & 2 as well as the People and Portrait  short courses. 

Facilitator


Tim Turner

Tim has been working as a professional commercial/editorial photographer in Melbourne, Australia for over 20 years.

He enjoys working for a variety of clients including interior and exterior design magazines, corporate clients, architects, interior designers, landscape designers and numerous small businesses.

He is an Accredited Professional Photographer with the Australian Institute of Professional Photography (AIPP), has been involved with RMIT VE on the Photo Imaging Professional Advisory Committee and as a sessional teacher, and enjoys donating his photographic skills to chosen charities.

Testimonial


  • Interactive class, which covered all the essentials for a new DSLR user. Deb was well organised and presented technical workings of the DSLR in an easy to follow way. - Nadine

    Deb's enthusiasm and patience was very helpful when you're nervous to learn. - Antoinetta 


    Bryce is an outstanding teacher, very engaging, knowledgeable with a great sense of humour. Enjoyed every moment of this course. Joanna


    Everything was explained very well and clearly, very easy to understand and Bryce really made sure that we understood before continuing further. I have learnt so much and I'm really happy I chose RMIT. Rachel


    Learning the technical aspects that allowed me to take the kind of photos I love!! Emily

    Learnt so much now enjoy my photography even more so. David

    I enjoyed the course a lot and acquired extensive knowledge because our lecturer Deb was engaging, down to earth, made it easy to follow, explained and showed us how to do things and was very hands on. Daniela

     

     

Printable course flyer

Available course dates

Tuesday 27 March 2018

  • Code S345151
  • Start date 27.03.18
  • End date 22.05.18
  • Hours 24.00
  • Campus City
  • Fee $730.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Tue 27.03.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 10.04.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 17.04.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 24.04.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 01.05.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 08.05.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 15.05.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 22.05.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00

Saturday 14 April 2018

  • Code S345151
  • Start date 14.04.18
  • End date 05.05.18
  • Hours 24.00
  • Campus City
  • Fee $730.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Sat 14.04.18 09:30am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 21.04.18 09:30am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 28.04.18 09:30am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 05.05.18 09:30am 04:30pm 6.00

Thursday 07 June 2018

  • Code S345151
  • Start date 07.06.18
  • End date 26.07.18
  • Hours 24.00
  • Campus City
  • Fee $730.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Thu 07.06.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 14.06.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 21.06.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 28.06.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 05.07.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 12.07.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 19.07.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 26.07.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00

Tuesday 07 August 2018

  • Code S345151
  • Start date 07.08.18
  • End date 25.09.18
  • Hours 24.00
  • Campus City
  • Fee $730.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Tue 07.08.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 14.08.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 21.08.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 28.08.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 04.09.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 11.09.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 18.09.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Tue 25.09.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00

Saturday 18 August 2018

  • Code S345151
  • Start date 18.08.18
  • End date 08.09.18
  • Hours 24.00
  • Campus City
  • Fee $730.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Sat 18.08.18 09:30am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 25.08.18 09:30am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 01.09.18 09:30am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 08.09.18 09:30am 04:30pm 6.00

Thursday 18 October 2018

  • Code S345151
  • Start date 18.10.18
  • End date 06.12.18
  • Hours 24.00
  • Campus City
  • Fee $730.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Thu 18.10.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 25.10.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 01.11.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 08.11.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 15.11.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 22.11.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 29.11.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Thu 06.12.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00

Saturday 27 October 2018

  • Code S345151
  • Start date 27.10.18
  • End date 17.11.18
  • Hours 24.00
  • Campus City
  • Fee $730.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Sat 27.10.18 09:30am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 03.11.18 09:30am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 10.11.18 09:30am 04:30pm 6.00
Sat 17.11.18 09:30am 04:30pm 6.00

Learn more

Share