Patternmaking

Overview

This course covers basic pattern making techniques. Participants will develop Base Style Patterns from the provided Basic/Foundation Blocks. Base styles include – gathered, a line and panelled skirts, bodice dart manipulation, sleeve and pant variations, a dress style and basic grading of sizes. A choice of Australian Standard Sizes 8 to 20 Basic/Foundation Women's Block Patterns will be available.

Course content

Participants will have the opportunity to learn patternmaking principles and techniques for the development of basic silhouettes and style adaptations through practical application, demonstrations and reference notes. Base Styles /Silhouettes to be developed from the provided Basic Blocks include: skirt variations, bodice dart manipulations, a dress and pant style and variety of sleeves.

Ideal for

This course is suitable for people in the clothing industry or for home users who are interested in learning basic professional pattern making skills.

More information

Outcome

By the end of this course, participants will have a good knowledge of Patternmaking.

Pre-requisites

It is strongly recommended that participants have some prior knowledge of sewing, garment construction or clothing trade skills/experience.

Materials supplied

Paper, Rulers.

Materials to bring

Metric tape measure, French curve/ruler (can be purchased at Spotlight), Scissors (suitable for cutting card), Sticky tape (with dispenser), Clutch pencil (HB, 0.5mm), Eraser.

Award

Participants will be emailed an RMIT Certificate of Participation after completion.

Additional notes

Difference between Patternmaking and Pattern Drafting:
Patternmaking
- uses existing blocks to standard sizes (up to size 20) to learn the skill of patternmaking, ie. using a standard size skirt block and learning how to apply patternmaking techniques to add design features - flare, pleats, pockets, waistbands, gathers etc
Pattern Drafting - students create their own blocks, to own measurements (or to clients’ measurements). This means any subsequent patterns made (using patternmaking techniques) based on their own individual measurements will fit perfectly (as not everyone is a standard size).

Printable course flyer

Available course dates

Saturday 24 February 2018

  • Code S350203
  • Start date 24.02.18
  • End date 24.03.18
  • Hours 30.00
  • Campus RMIT Brunswick
  • Fee $750.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Sat 24.02.18 10:00am 04:00pm 6.00
Sat 03.03.18 10:00am 04:00pm 6.00
Sat 10.03.18 10:00am 04:00pm 6.00
Sat 17.03.18 10:00am 04:00pm 6.00
Sat 24.03.18 10:00am 04:00pm 6.00

Monday 19 March 2018

  • Code S350203
  • Start date 19.03.18
  • End date 21.05.18
  • Hours 27.00
  • Campus RMIT Brunswick
  • Fee $750.00
Enrol now
Session  Start  End Hours
Mon 19.03.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Mon 26.03.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Mon 09.04.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Mon 16.04.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Mon 23.04.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Mon 30.04.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Mon 07.05.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Mon 14.05.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00
Mon 21.05.18 06:00pm 09:00pm 3.00

Learn more

Share